TheFeralK’s Learning Log

Hello, here’s my Learning Log!

March 30, 2022

Where I Was

With no musical background, I started playing clawhammer banjo at age 47. That was almost 8 years ago, and while I still play, I am quite happily mediocre at best. About a year ago, I happened to pick up a guitar that was lying on someone’s couch and an amazing thing happened … I could play it! Well, I couldn’t actually play the thing, but it sounded nice when I touched it, and I was all Wow! I learned how to make a G, and a C, and then a D and I was hooked.

So in June 2021 went and bought myself a Taylor GS Mini, and thus began my Guitar Journey. This is two days in.

I played around for a little while and learned a couple chords and some strumming, then — thinking, hey with all that banjo playing I must be intermediate already! — I signed up for some Skype lessons. I liked the instructor well enough, I could start to learn Travis picking and some other finger style patterns and hack away through intricate stuff and I could spit it back, woot! Then it so happened that life interfered around Christmastime and I stopped playing ENTIRELY for about 3 months. Now that I’m back with the guitar in my hands, ready to re-start my lessons, it occurs to me Hey! I’m learning this fingerstyle stuff etc etc but just because I CAN learn it, that doesn’t mean I can actually play guitar and maybe I oughta learn THAT first, hmmmm?

So here I am, ready to learn. From the beginning.

Where I’m at Now

My approach to learning is far from structured. I’ve gotten Justin’s Beginner Songbook, and from there I’m picking out songs that I like, and can play, and am chording through them. Just now I’m working on What’s Up, Killing Me Softly, Dock of the Bay and How to Save a Life.

As far as Justin’s lessons go, I’m vaguely about Grade 2 Module 8.

I practice regularly, usually 1-3 hours a day. I just noodle around, and don’t follow any kind of rigid practice schedule.

What I’m Planning to Work On Soon