Thumb Muting

Your thumb is for so much more than just chilling behind your guitar neck! It’s got potential and we're ready to explore it.

View the full lesson at Thumb Muting | JustinGuitar

How do I avoid muting the high e string with the base of my index finger when wrapping my thumb around the top of the fretboard?

3 Likes

The key is to hold it really tight like a bat, you just need to play around with your palm to try to make it work.

1 Like

I was having the same issue at first but found that moving my thumb to an angle helped.

At first my thumb was coming straight up, like parallel to the frets, but making it at an angle like Justin’s thumb in the video (look at the tip of his thumb) shifts my hand a bit. So now it rings out while keeping that firm grip.

I think my thumb has grown longer, since I started muting thicker strings. Now I even mute the fifth string when I play D chords.

When I started playing open chords the thumb position felt natural near 6th string, now I’m working on its accuracy while changing the chords.

Out of context I first thought… a bat like :bat: and was wondering if fingers make a wing shape until I watched the lesson again and realized like a baseball bat :baseball: . :rofl: In my defense… it is October. Glad to see other people struggling with it. I did made so much progress in grade 1 & 2 and now feel like I have to relearn the chords a bit before going on to 3.

1 Like

The way my hand is shaped, I have a VERY hard time not muting the high E string when thumb muting the Low E. I searched online and talked to a few people, the trick is REALLY bending the knuckle closest to the fingernail. When I do that, I have better success with thumb muting. Hope this helps someone.

2 Likes