Thumb placement while playing chords

Hey Guys, I just wanted to get your opinion on something.

I’ve been learning guitar for about 8 months now, using this site and a couple others. Lately I have started copying Justin’s style of using the thumb to mute the 5th and/or 6th strings while playing chords.

My wife bought me 2 months of lessons for my bday with a very good instructor, someone who has started playing at 5 and never stopped. Studied all things music in university and makes a living doing it now.

I had my first class with him yesterday and he wanted to see my technique first. I played on song on the app just to show chord changes. He told me I have some bad habits I need to change, specifically talking about using the thumb to mute. He says the thumb shouldn’t wrap around, and you should be able to put 1 or 2 fingers between the guitar neck and your palm. Most of his concern I think is about the long term guitar playing, that playing how he describes will put less tension on the muscles. I do see his point.

The conflict for me is not really knowing which style to use now. I’m only with this instructor for 8 lessons, and I’m going to be with Justin until I finish all levels.

The instructor does have a youtube channel, albeit much less popular than Justin’s.

Just curious, what do you guys think about this?

This guy is teaching classical, nylon string guitar. If you want to play classical or finger style guitar, I would probably follow his lessons to the letter.

In my experience, classical guitar teachers have a body of knowledge that goes back centuries, which works very well…for that type of music.

Personally, I find the classical sitting position makes it much easier on my fretting hand than the casual position, even though I play modern popular music.

Also, IME, some classical teachers tend to be purists, and assume there is only One True Way to Play Guitar.