Tips to address elbow pain in strumming arm?

Hi everyone! I’m new to learning guitar and recently developed pain in my strumming arm, the inner elbow. A musician friend of mine had me press on the area of pain in my inner elbow while moving each finger, and it felt connected to the movement of the two middle fingers. She recommended laying off of guitar til the pain subsides and then getting a D’addario hand exerciser to use in the meantime.

I’ve also read on another thread to check out the Trigger Point Therapy Workbook.

Are there any other tips or resources for correct posture, strumming arm, etc? I am petite, 5’3’', and have a dreadnaught full size Guild, all wood guitar, it’s always felt huge to hold it, but when I bought the guitar, the clerks didn’t seem to be fazed by that. I read somewhere one person’s pain went away when they simply played on a smaller guitar. Is that an option I need to consider?

I am sad to be missing my playing days, I have been progressing rapidly through the course. But I know I have to take a break until this pain goes away, and really take my next steps slowly and seriously to be in this for a lifetime of the joy I have when playing music.

Any tips much appreciated!!

Well, they wouldn’t as long as they were making the sale. :grin:

I would certainly look at trying out a smaller guitar. My wife is about 5’3" and I can’t imagine her playing a dreadnought.

When I had tennis elbow, my GP told me to get a “tennis elbow strap” off amazon or ebay. I did, and wore it strapped around my forearm as close to the elbow joint as possible, with the pad putting pressure on the sore spot. It worked as instant pain relief and longer term as a complete cure (had to wear it every day for a few months)

BTW, welcome to the forum!