Together in electric dreams

Hi all,

I am originally from England and am now retired in the beautiful Shuswap area of BC in Canada.

I was told by my teachers at school that I was tone deaf and should avoid anything musical for the rest of my life. Roll on 50 odd years and I started questioning if that advise was correct? So for the last two years I have been learning guitar (purely through Justin guitar). Whilst I rate myself still as a beginner I have come to realize that I am not tone deaf and can play at least one or two tunes that are half recognizable. So now I have joined the community hub to try and push my musicality forward and I hope to gain valuable insight, tips and knowledge to help me.

Whilst the title of my introduction refers to my electric guitar, I equally enjoy my acoustic guitar as well.

Pete

10 Likes

Hey Pete, that’s awesome!!! Welcome to the community. There are areas of musical education that frustrate me and the supposed guidance you got is one of them, I’m so glad you challenged that defeatist statement and have discovered your musical self. Keep playing!

Thanks Tony

Hi Pete and welcome. No advice needed. You found Justin are here two years later, that speaks bundles and proves those teachers wrong !

:sunglasses:

Hi and Welcome Pete!!

Screw that teacher and rock on!!

2 Likes

Pete

Welcome.

We seem to be of a similar age, I am only just over 2 months in not 2 years. Your comment about being told I was tone deaf from an early age rings a bell

I have been persuaded by some in the community that I should sing as well as play the guitar, always up for a challenge I have just started singing lessons, early days but what I have thought all these years may not be true.
Michael

1 Like

Hello, Pete!

Welcome to the community :slight_smile:

What bad advice! :rage:.

Glad you are proving them wrong

It really is sad that an adult would say something so judgmental and limiting to a child. Shame on them.