Too Inexperienced to Buy a Nice Guitar?!?

Iā€™ve been working through Grade 1 for a month or so and consider myself a total beginner. I can play the main 8 chords or so and switch with some difficulty. Iā€™m working my way through Pontoon and A Horse With No Name.

I went to my local guitar store to see some new 3/4 size acoustics, I really like the Martin 000 Junior. To my horror, the owner takes one down, points at a stool and says ā€œtry it out, play something.ā€

Iā€™m not sure why I was surprised and what else I was expecting but sheer panic swept over me as I sat down and hacked away at an E Minor with a du u u du strumming pattern and meekly gave out a ā€œOoh, sounds nice.ā€ :joy:

I handed the guitar back and lamely said Iā€™d check with my wife and Iā€™ll return soon.

I guess I need to work on a few impressive riffs before I return.

Honestly I feel ya, even though I know a few songs and sort of can play whenever I go to music store I feel big blank in my head and I think gosh what should I play now?! I only been twice though as I donā€™t have any music shops in my small town so maybe if I was going more often it would be better? :grinning:

1 Like

Try this one the next time you go there :wink:

When I try guitars at the store, I usually go to a more secluded spot (if thereā€™s any) so as not to be in the way of other customers and not to draw too much attention to myself. Also, when I try a guitar, I tend to play the things I most often do (where my hands fall ā€œnaturallyā€), either chords or bits of melody, just to get a feeling of the instrument. I donā€™t care if the assistant or anyone else finds it entertaining or not. After all, Iā€™m not there to give a concert.

2 Likes

I feel you! I didnā€™t have such a hard time trying acoustic but I still remember trying an electric in a store, they plugged it to an amp and left me alone (they told me to feel free to play around with both things) and I was likeā€¦ what now?

:sweat_smile:

2 Likes