Twin Six, please allow me to introduce myself . .

Twin Six is the name of my twelve-string guitar and also refers to a Packard Twin Six that figured prominently in my childhood.

My avatar is the abalone inlay logo of my Alvarez Yairi guitars, built in the '80s by Japanese luthier Kazuo Yairi. Incidentally, I’m a student of Japanese language & literature and had a career as a translator.

Musically, I’ve played keyboards, sitar, and guitar. After a decades-long musical hiatus, I returned to the guitar just before the pandemic hit. This is my second year learning with Justin Guitar, making me a continually advancing beginner.

Favorite bands musicians include the Beatles, Jefferson Airplane, Velvet Underground, Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Frank Zappa, David Bowie . . .

I 'm a true geek when it comes to guitar strings & picks. It’s a fascinating learning curve.

8 Likes

Welcome over to the darkside Jonathan

1 Like

Welcome to the community Jonathan. I’m still waiting to hear the twin six in action. :wink: If you still have the sitar, I’d love to hear that too.

1 Like

What a fascinating man you are Jonathan and what a repertoire of skills and experience you have. I’m so glad you’re here and very much look forward to hearing more of you.

1 Like

Good to see you hear, Jonathan.

If you’ll allow a digression … reading all you’ve said about strings inspired me to order some different strings the other day. Looking forward to re-stringing and hearing of it makes a difference … at least a difference I can hear and appreciate or even just feel.

1 Like

I’d wondered where you were, glad to see you over here - hopefully we’re going to hear some nice 12 string goodness!

1 Like

Hello and welcome Jonathan. :slight_smile:

It sounds like we might get some exciting sounds from you.

1 Like

Hello Jonathan
great to hear something about your passions and career outside the guitar world as well, thanks for sharing.