Undecided about my song

Hi! I want to start writing songs. I have a classical guitar which i have been using for 2 years since i started playing (almost 3).
I wrote my lyrics, been very undecided with those too. Changed them a little. Now it’s better, but i have a hard time putting the chords over the melody because everytime i try i change the melody and the chords.
How can i finally decide myself on a melody and the chords.
And it’s also a little frustrating because i can’t really play all over the neck to make the chords sound really cool like john mayer( for ex.) does.
Any advices for overall songwriting would ve very appreciated.
Thanks in advance and sorry for any mistakes (i am not native)

1 Like

Hi @Noobix, it is hard to give advice without hearing what you currently have but a note on John Mayer sounding cool by using all over the neck:

I think the thinking is more productive the other way around - John Mayer does not sound cool because he plays all over the neck. He plays all over the neck because the sound he wants requires him to use all of the neck. There are a lot of guitarists that sound amazing with using a small portion of the neck, and there are others who use all of the neck but sounds pretty bad (like me :))

We usually think about different positions on the guitar not because different positions sound better, but because the guitar’s anatomy makes us think that way. A probably better approach is to think about chords in terms of extensions and inversions. For e.g. playing a D7 chord might sometimes sound cooler than just a D chord. And if this chord is in between an E chord and a G chord, then playing that chord in its second inversion (which means playing an F# as the lowest note) may sound cooler thanks to playing E - F# - G (a nice ascension) rather than E - D - G in the bass. You would then go figure out how to play a D with an F# base on the guitar, which would probably require you to use a part of the neck you do not normally use.