Weak ,Tinny and lifeless - past recordings

I started playing my old recorings today and can’t believe just how terrible the playing sound to me.

In a way i’m pleased that I have noticed this about the videos and how I play. It almost comes across as timmid and hence does sound weak and lifeless, a complete lack of ambience.

I don’t this this is overly harsh just surprised how terrible they alll sound lol…

It’s a good idea to listen to your old songs and see how you feel about some of your early/earlier work.

R

7 Likes

And to follow up listening to more recent recordings to hear the progress made.

8 Likes

Theres a difference but I feel It’s more about being a different guitar than what I hear. I wonder if starting to add some small effect to guitars will help. Something to try in practice possibly.

R

Are you recording an acoustic or electric, Rachel?

If an acoustic and recording via built-in electronics and direct through the interface then some post-processing would help. The tone with the typical piezo pickups is typically quite different to what you hear in the room, in a not so good way. That is unless you have really good quality pickups, perhaps blended with an in-body mic.

Both electric, my old recordings. 1st recording was with a digi can mic but, later was stand mic into DAW.

R

I think this is good. I can surely see a difference in my 1st recording vs my last also. It shows, generally, that I’ve improved. Good. That was the idea.

Also, perhaps as we record, we get better at recording. What sounds good, and what don’t. This is good too.

I think it’s that we get more confident in what we’re doing too, as we get better at playing, and recording.

All good imho.

2 Likes

Thanks Rachel, so to confirm. You play through an amp and record by mic’ing up the amp and going through an Audio Interface.