Welcome home to my soul - original song

Hey y’all!
I’d love some feedback on an original song of mine called “Welcome home to my soul”
What do you think about my rhythm. I’m obviously a beginner in Grade 1. My goal is to do a good job at playing simple original songs. Where do you think my biggest improvement area is? What do you think I do well?

Here is the link:

7 Likes

Nice job! All i can say is just keep at it and keep writing! I thought your rhythm and singing were good, you only will get better with practice.

1 Like

You nailed it. Very well done. I didn’t have the confidence to do anything like that when I was a beginner. Keep at it.

1 Like

Hi, I I also think you’re nailing your goal. The song is simple, but effective and I think your rhythm is good. I like the lyrics too.

1 Like

Hi Husain,
your determined enthusiasm to transform your two simple chords into songs, into music, is fantastic.
You ask about rhythm.
The main point I would raise is that you set up a tempo in the rhythm that is faster than your current ability to change chords. This has the consequence of setting you up to make pauses in the smooth flow of the guitar. You play an introductory strumming pattern on your first chord which instantly captures our attention, then the flow is interrupted a little by the fact that you need a little longer to change to the second chord before you repeat the strumming again. This is definitely normal, and all beginners face this same issue. You can slow down songs to match your ability to change chords. Equally, there are times when slowing down too much can take away the spirit of the music and so you simply have to accept this issue as one that will improve with time and practice.