What level of guitarist are you article by Justin

Just come across this article by Justin

10 Likes

Thanks for sharing, Michael.

Reading through the desciptions, I can tick a few boxes at all three levels :rofl:

5 Likes

All of us have an intermediate and advanced player in us :smiley:

1 Like

not to mention a beginner :wink:

3 Likes

ā€œTo get from intermediate grades a student shouldā€¦ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦ā€¦.be good enough to play in a band or jam on songs they know.ā€

Ah well. Iā€™m enjoying what Iā€™m doing. I donā€™t want/need a label. :smiley:

6 Likes

I have some advanced level experience with beginner skills. No commonality with intermediate players whatsoever :slight_smile:

1 Like

Iā€™ve not watched it as I generally avoid labels but if you asked me my level, Iā€™d give the stock answer I have used for years. That is I am an Advanced Beginner, as I am always learning somethings new. Therefore I will always be a beginner.

9 Likes

For some reason I always have to ask myself this. Itā€™s probably because I try to structure everything that I do so I need to place myself before I can structure how to move forward. According to Justinā€™s article Iā€™d be an advancing beginner, maybe really early intermediate. Iā€™m only just starting to get into the stuff that he mentions in the intermediate sections.

The label is meaningless really beyond personal introspection. I need it to have a good idea of where I am and where I should go but beyond that itā€™s really arbitrary.

2 Likes

Perhaps in order to progress faster we should be joining the ā€˜Class of 23ā€™.

2 Likes

7 Likes

4 Likes

100% Beginner

6 Likes

My level is '60s garage band rhythm guitarist/pentatonic noodler, and campfire strummer.

4 Likes

Alas, I am still just a beginner. But thatā€™s better than a pre=beginner who knows NOTHING! :rofl:

3 Likes