What scale to choose?

Hey guys, I’m Shreezen and I’m a Grade 3 guitarist (from Justin’s course ofc).

I’ve recently got my own electric guitar (been using friend’s acoustic up until now). Exams were over yesterday and I’ve been enjoying spending time with my guitar finally and I came up with a riff I think is cool and will make for a good intro to a song. I’ve tried and tweaked the notes for 4/4 time signature at 200 bpm (only for the riff). So far, I’m satisfied with how it sounds and I’ll attach an image of my tone settings (I’m using amp sim as I can’t afford one, and a neck pickup with tone max-ed out on a Strydom Magna Strat). I do not know much about what scales to use and what notes are in each scale and after figuring out what notes my riff has, I’ve asked ChatGPT what scale be appropriate and it said G and G# don’t belong together in a scale but out of what it recommended, A Harmonic Minor sounded good (just putting it out there if needed).

As anyone with a head, I decided to ask some humans as ChatGPT can’t understand music. I wanna make a good song of my own with this riff as my starting point and kinda stuck not knowing how to write a melody and how to structure it up. When I tried using A Minor pentatonic scale, it sounded like I’m writing the solo and not the melody/chorus/verse. Apart from that, I need some help figuring out what scale I should use for this songwriting side quest of mine. I’ll attach an audio of me doing the riff, the tab I’ve written along with this post.

Audio: Mine.wav

Thank you,
ZEN

Interesting question. I think you would benefit from these lessons:

Hey Zen -

It sounds to me like you’re playing a B on the 7th fret in the first phrase, rather than a C on the 8th fret as you have written.

If that’s what you intended then all the notes (except the G#) are in the E minor pentatonic scale. The G# is the major 3rd of the scale and you are using it as a passing note, which is fine.

I’d start with E minor pentatonic.