When to strum and change chord when playing from the song books?

I have the beginner songbooks but I’m not sure when I should change chords or strum in each song? Or what tempo I should be working towards?

Please help

1 Like

Hi Shane, welcome to the Community! If you haven’t yet, you might say hello over on the Introduce Yourself section. I can give you some information based on my experience. I’m a beginner myself, and assume your skills are in the beginner level as well. Hopefully some of the more seasoned folks here can jump in as well.

I have the Beginner’s Song Book that has Three Little Birds as the first song. The song lessons are broken into Stages. I think these stages follow the progress of Justin’s old beginners course. That is to say: they increase in complexity with each stage. I’d suggest you review the Introduction on pp. 4-7, wherein Justin explains the notation in the book. Also, you’ll find the songs each have a dedicated lesson on the website. Those are your best bet for getting the details. Finally, if you aren’t already doing so, it’s worthwhile to work through the free lessons on the website beginning with Grade 1. Even if much of it is review for you, Justin provides many good tips and practices routines! Loads of people have commented that they started at the beginning even though they had guitar experience, and were glad they did so.

As for tempo: for beginners, it’s suggested to start slowly to get the chords and strumming under your fingers, then increase the tempo. I confess I still don’t play many songs at the original tempo - they are too fast for my current skill level. That’s ok! As far as knowing the tempo the original was recorded at - I usually google the name of the song followed by bpm - for example, “Three Little Birds bpm” - and find it that way.

Hope that helps! There are many excellent resources and much good support here. Keep the questions coming!

4 Likes