When you hear music does it remind you of a certain place or time?

I just got “Virtuoso” by Joe Pass and I feel like I should be eating at Olive Garden. :joy:
It’s a very pretty album that makes me want to play around with scales and improvisations.

Oh, absolutely. I’m a Viet Nam veteran. There are several songs I strongly associate with that time. “We Gotta Get Out of This Place” by The Animals. “I’m Your Captain/Closer to Home” by Grand Funk Railroad. “Paint it Black” by the Rolling Stones. I could go on.

2 Likes

@markr31 My dads a Vietnam Vet I wonder if he knows those songs? :grinning: I know “Paint it Black” but not the other two.

He almost certainly knows those.

1 Like
1 Like
1 Like

He ended up hurt and disabled in 69’ and was brought back home but I will ask him if he knows those next time we talk!!

I’m sorry to hear that. I was very fortunate that my older brother and I both came home without a scratch.

Give him my best.

I’m glad to hear you both came home ok. I will! He has leukemia now But he’s truckin’ along just like he always does! He’s the bravest man I have ever known.

Yes! Some music that I listened to in college, when I hear it now, I’m transported back to my old apartment that I lived in then. It’s a weird feeling but most of the time I like it when it happens.

2 Likes

All. The .Time. There’s hardly a song that goes by (well, on my playlists, that is, sometimes on the radio) that doesn’t make me remember a time and/or place .Or nudges me to go and play the guitar to have a go at that specifc chord progression or notes. But then i realise that most of time, when this happens, i’m at work, and there’s no guitar around. :pensive:

1 Like

@GrytPipe Sounds like you need to work in a guitar shop! Or a job so boring that they let you just play around with musical instruments. Tin whistles are portable and kind of fun. :upside_down_face: :smiley: