Wild Thing by The Troggs Lesson

Learn to play Wild Thing by The Troggs on JustinGuitar!

View the full lesson at Wild Thing by The Troggs | JustinGuitar

wow Justin this might not be the right way to learn A D anchor but I had fun and sped up my A D chord switch

This is great! It’s a song I love and grew up with. Still flubbing up my A to D on occasion, but my D to E goes really smoothly. Hoping my Beginner’s Songbook gets here soon so I can really learn it well.

1 Like

This is also a good song for when you’re first getting into 5th and 6th string root E and A shape barre chords. 6th string A, 5th string D and E.

1 Like

This is also a good song for when you’re first getting into 5th and 6th string root E and A shape barre chords. 6th string A, 5th string D and E.

Oh heck, let’s not confuse me too soon. lol

1 Like

This was the first song I enjoyed playing as a complete beginner as it just used A, D, E, was a good excuse to turn up the gain a bit and was actually recognisable.

I returned to it after a few months more learning. Now, I generally like to keep the strumming hand moving at a constant speed and miss strums as required. I realised that the way I was playing before wasn’t very smooth as I would use all downstrums, and speeded up the strumming for for the D major on the & 4 beats.

Now I’ve tried two different ways to strum it - hand moving at “normal” speed, i.e. one down strum per beat, and playing it as D D x UD, and it feels smooth but does use an upstrum on the D-major.

Other thing I’ve tried is moving the hand twice as fast, like sixteenth note speed, and playing it all as downstrums, so when I play the A (or E) on beats 1 and 2, I have a missed strum in between on the &. This also works but is a bit harder and seems very busy with a lot of hand movement for a few strums.

Would be interested in how other people on here play it.