Yet another Wish You Were Here video

Hey guys,

Here’s me playing Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd.

Not particularly original but hey, I like the song. I recorded the video on my iPhone, recorded the guitar audio through a Scarlett 2i2 with Ableton and Amplitube, and then mixed in the audio using Adobe Premiere Elements. My first time I’ve recorded myself playing on video, and first time mixing it together - wasn’t too hard.

In terms of progress, I started playing guitar in October, about 4 1/2 months ago. I’m at the end of Grade 2, doing consolidation. There’s quite a few mistakes there. The biggest being how I play the riff in the middle section wrong, I knew I was doing it wrong but my fingers were just on autopilot! However it’s representative of my level, I just played it after a bit of a warm up rather than try to get a perfect take.

I’m open to feedback (constructive or otherwise!).

15 Likes

I think you should be pretty pleased with that at 4.5 months in. Pacing was consistent and chord changes were pretty clean. Definitely sounded like Wish you were here! You might want to slide your guitar slightly further around your body…your strumming almost forward of the first pickup.

1 Like

Hey! That is great, at 4.5 months!

I think you were smooth, and steady. Definitely sounded nice!

The great thing about WYWH is that it is suitable for all levels and it is a great tune. So yes, it seems like everyone does it, but there are good reasons for that.

I have been working on it quite a while now and keep learning from it. I am not a sharer, so haven’t posted any video yet. Kudos to you for posting and having all the audio/video set up!

2 Likes

Great effort mate for 4 1/2 months, and well done on your first video post. You must be pleased with your progress. This timeless classic, one of my my all time favourites, is a deceptively difficult song, especially early on, and you did very well. It’s one that’ll develop with you as you progress.

Cheers, Shane