ZedExDM's Learning Log

Hi all!

I’m a complete beginner, bar a couple of lessons some 30 odd years ago, so not sure if anyone will find my learning journey interesting in the short term. Maybe over time it will blossom in to essential reading (haha), but for now, it’s gonna be pretty basic stuff.

A few weeks back, I decided to get myself an electric guitar. I rang a few shops, spoke with a few people and one thing I noticed straight away - everyone had their own idea of what the ‘ideal’ first guitar should be. I had one guy try to convince me to spend over a grand on a first guitar, bring it to him to modify it and so on which I thought was just bonkers advice.

Squier Strats seemed to be fairly common recommendations but I fell in love with Mustangs ever since I was young. I was absolutely thrilled to learn that Squier made a ‘cheap’ version. Reviews seemed ok, so I took the plunge…

I absolutely love it. Every time I walk past it, I can’t help but look at it and smile.

Using good 'ol YouTube tutorials, I’ve set it up reasonably well - I think. It sounds ok to me for now. I do have a luthier very local to me who I’ll take it to eventually to tinker with but at the moment, I don’t want it further than an arm’s length away!

I’m currently on module 1, session 3. I practice every day, trying my best to ‘nail it’ before moving on. I’ve found the app on iPad fantastic to track progress. I’m ready to move to session 4 but don’t want to ‘rush’. Maybe at the weekend…

Another thing I love is hooking my iPad up to my amp and playing along to songs in the app. I will admit to going over the recommended practice length each day playing songs! But I’m enjoying it so much. It’s cathartic to the point that it feels like therapy when I’m playing. I forget about my crappy day at work, the leaking tap in the kitchen and just where I lost my phone charger. Everything else vanishes and I’m there, playing along to songs, badly, but improving!