Ziggys Learning Log

OK, so let’s see how this goes! The plan for this log is to reflect on what I’ve learned at the end of each week.

I’ll add stuff as it occurs to me or if questions/suggestions arise.

Backstory
I’ve been getting back into playing over the last couple of months now that I’ve semi-retired and have a little more time and the frequent travel that came with my job is no longer an issue. I started playing when I was a kid, about 13 I suppose, and was in a couple of bands doing school discos, youth clubs and the like. I stopped in my late teens as education and work intervened, then along came family, and I never seemed to get back to it (despite a couple of abortive attempts over the years). I’m starting this Learning Log as a way to record my goals and progress - at least that’s the idea. They say making some sort of public commitment helps you to stick to your plan.

I’m currently in Grade 2 Module 10 of the beginner course (I went back and completed all previous modules too). I have recently subscribed to the Practical Music Theory course and am working through naming the notes etc. I’ve retained some knowledge from 40 years ago but it is frustrating sometimes knowing I could do stuff then that I can’t do now. Use it or lose it I guess.

Gear
I still have some of my old gear from way back in the early 80’s. 1981 Japanese Squire Strat, Boss OD-1 Overdrive, Ibanez SD9 Super Distortion. The old chorus pedal seems to be busted though.

I’ve also got a 40th anniversary Fender Strat that I bought in Kiev, Ukraine in 1995. And an American Pro Telecaster that I got in Sydney in 2019. These are played through a 50W Boss Katana and Ditto Looper. I also have a Keeley D&M Drive, Keeley Caverns delay/reverb, and MXR Phase 90 to go in front of the looper. Having the effects in the amp doesn’t help when looping!

My Goals
Short Term Goals (Monthly Targets)

• Practice on average for 7 hours/week
  • Complete at least 1 Grade 2 module per month