Absolute newbie to the guitar. Hello from Ray - aka Sixgun

Hi everybody. I’m a complete newbie to the guitar.

I tried to learn once a very long time ago, and it just didn’t “click”. I gave up.

Now, I’ve decided to give it another go (being older and wiser, and all that jazz…).

I just picked up a “new to me” Washburn D-15 acoustic. I took a buddy of mine that plays guitar well to the local mega-guitar store and went looking for guitars. We stumbled on this one and it sounded good, even with the old strings. Put a new set of strings on, and it sounds fantastic! I think I got a good deal, and it is a quality enough guitar that I won’t immediately be thinking about an “upgrade”.

I just found this site and am currently working on Grade 1 Level 1. I’m sure that persistence will pay off. I’ll keep at it slow and steady.

Thanks for reading.

Ray

18 Likes

Welcome Ray! It’s a beautiful Journey, the community here is great too so you’re off to a good start!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum Ray.

2 Likes

Welcome Ray,

The start of a great journey! Great community here mate - a real spirit of generosity and friendship. Players of all levels, all helpin each other out.
Stick close to Justin’s lessons, and reach out here anytime.
Lookin forward to see you progress.

Cheers, Shane

2 Likes

Welcome to the Group Ray.

R.

2 Likes

Welcome.
This site and community is one of the best in my opinion :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi Ray,
I wish you a lot of fun and perseverance :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

2 Likes

Welcome aboard Ray :smiley:
1.1… What a great place to be!
You have so much fun ahead of you. Enjoy every bit of it.
(How on earth did you resist going with the handle Ray-gun? :rofl:)

2 Likes

Welcome to the community Ray :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Hello Ray. Welcome to JustinGuitar and the community.

That is exactly the mindset that will see you right.
If you need any help or support just ask.
Cheers :smiley: