Amplitube + IK Multimedia iRig 2?

Hi all! I will be moving out of my home for a few years and I was thinking of going digital instead of carrying my amp (blackstar id core v3 20w).

I am considering something like iRig2 and amplitube on a windows laptop. Has someone used such a setup before? Would you recommend it?

I played around with the amplitube software using my amp as an interface. I couldn’t assess much about the audio as the amp and software didn’t interact well. But I noticed that there was significant lag with the audio? Should I expect similar issues with the iRig2?

Let me know your opinions and thank you very much!

Edit:

I’m a beginner and looking for a practice setup.

Surya,

I use Waves GTR when I want to record guitar parts on for original songs in my DAW. I know it runs standalone but haven’t tried that.

I guess the first challenge would be to have a PC setup so the latency in the round trip from guitar-AI-app-AI-speakers/headphones is short enough to make it. workable. Lots written about this here: Is there a way I can record, hear myself, and not have latency with an audio interface?

Then I suppose it would be the quality of tones. I’ve not tried lots of these software applications but I believe they generally produce good quality.

As another option I understand you get pedals that can serve a similar purpose with option to listen on headphones or an external speaker. Depending on your use cases, that may be a better option?

another alternative would be a MultiFX pedal…they will provide an output (which can be used into a PA or AMP) and usually a headphone output should you need it. No need for the PC then (well in general as many come with PC/MAC software for firmware updates and an alternative way to modify patches).

1 Like