Is there a way I can record, hear myself, and not have latency with an audio interface?

Complete newbie with recording myself with an audio interface but I’m trying to record myself and the slight latency is really throwing me off when I’m hearing through my headphones? Right now, it’s set up Guitar → interface → USB. I have the headphones connected to the interface. It’s a really slight delay but it def affects my playing so much so that I’d rather not do it this way. Is there a way to reduce latency?

If not, I’m waiting on another cable so that I can go Guitar → Amp → interface with my headphones in the amp. I’m assuming that will go better since I’m hearing through the amp which never has that latency?

T

Hi Alexis let’s start with what interface you are using? Second question in preferences what driver you use, is it ASIO? I don’t have any latency that way on my Scarlett.

1 Like

I’m using a Scarlett as well. I’m using Audacity as my DAW, and I let Windows install the driver when I plugged in it via USB so I’m not sure what driver it’s using.

It’s not the driver Windows installed is a problem, it’s how your Audacity reads your interface. I use Reaper but I am sure it is to be set up similar on Audacity so in preferences you need to find driver as ASIO not a direct sound or anything else.

Try checking this out perhaps it will help pick a correct optiom: Devices Preferences - Audacity Manual

2 Likes

Most audio interfaces, the Scarlett’s included, have a way to do “direct monitoring”. That is the monitoring audio comes directly from the interface rather than via the computer. If you set that then you shouldn’t get any latency.

But you also will have a very “raw” guitar sound with no amp, speaker or fx tones. This might be fine for you for a lot of purposes, especially if you are planning to play around with the sound after you have recorded it. But it won’t generally sound great whilst you are monitoring.