An Amplifier for both Acoustic and electric

First time posting on these communities so apologies if I breach protocol.

I have picked up the guitar again after 45 years so I am an absolute beginner ( I wasn’t that good when I was a teenager). I have two acoustic guitars a 6 string and a 12 string both electro and I am looking to build an electric guitar. I don’t have an amp at this stage.

From the various YT vids and forums there is lots of advice and reviews of amps that are dedicated to either acoustic or electric but I haven’t found anything that gives a review of an amp that is ideal/best for both. I don’t want to fill my house with multiple amps and I have no ambition for public performance. I am sure my circumstance is not unique and so somebody out there must have a recommendation for an amp that will adequately cover both acoustic and electric and I would really like to read you opinions. I would like to add bass to the mix but lets not overcomplicate things at this stage.

Spark Mini
Boss Katana

2 Likes

In this case, why do you need an amp for your acoustic at all?

Because I will be building an electric as my next project plus I may want to try a looper etc at some point, maybe trying to emulate Ed, in my dreams.

1 Like

Hello Derek & Welcome to the Community!

I have 2 amps:

Fender Acoustic 100 which is a 2-channel amp which accepts guitar or microphone on either channel & individually selectable effects available for each channel. Good for acoustic & singing but not too great with an electric guitar.

Boss Katana 50 MKII which is super versatile with lots of effects built in & the Boss Tone Studio available online. It has an acoustic setting that sounds pretty good. Justin has several videos of his experiences with the Katana & using the Tone Studio. Several others on YouTube use & praise Boss amps (Marty is one). The Katana Gen 3 looks to have even more capabilities & is a really nice amp.