Andrés. - beginner guitarist for 40 years saying Hi from Kitchener, ON Canada

Hi, my name is Andrés. I am from Cali, Colombia, but I have lived in Canada for 20 years. I live in Kitchener, Ontario (one and a half hours west of Toronto by car with good traffic).

Here is my guitar journey; hopefully my story is not longer than it should have been for an introduction to the community.

I have been a beginner guitarist for 40 years.

I remember the first two occasions that I had the opportunity to grab a guitar.

One was during a school trip to an archaeological park. There was a guitar in the lounge of the small hotel where we were camping and I started walking around the pool at night, kind of strumming it although I did not know anything about how to play a guitar.

The other one was because a cousin asked my mother to drop off a guitar to a friend of my cousin in our way home. I got in charge of holding the guitar during the short trip and I started to pluck the strings without really knowing what I was doing. From that short trip my mother got the idea of paying me some guitar lessons.

My mother convinced a retired guitar teacher friend of her to give lessons to her, my sister and I. My mother bought me through the teacher an inexpensive but good enough nylon string student guitar. I think I was fifteen at that time.

My mother liked to sing and wanted to learn how to play the guitar but she got one of her hands hurt cooking when we were starting the lessons. It was nothing permanent but unfortunately she lost interest in trying with the guitar.

My sister struggled with the size of the guitar but followed the advice of the teacher to play a Colombian instrument called tiple that is a smaller guitar shaped instrument with twelve strings grouped in four tripled courses. It is played mostly strumming.