Black Keys - Lonely Boy (Cover by JK)

I did this one on the last JustinGuitar Community Open Mic. So if you watched that, nothing new to see here! Except perhaps better audio and video quality - but still some imperfect guitar playing.

I’m pretty happy with this one overall. Not the couple of mistakes I make… the accomplishment of playing this one. So I thought I’d document it here. The rhythm is syncopated, and was tricky to get in my fingers while singing. It’s a mix of (simple) lead lines with rhythm, and some pedal action.

I’m also OK with my singing on this one, for probably the first time. This was one of the songs I wanted to learn when I started playing guitar.

Here it is, my cover of Lonely Boy by the Black Keys (click me):

21 Likes

Awesome playing JK. Really enjoyed it when you played it during the open mic too. I said this during the open mic, but I think your vocals really work for the song. Really unique and makes the song your own.

1 Like

Sorry - I don’t want a guitar video - I want one of you doing the dance from the original video. :slight_smile:

Sounds wicked. Love how the note drops.
Such a great song.

Digger

1 Like

I enjoyed your version, and y ou made it your own, indeed.
Very well done.

Daddy sung BASS!

Cool playing JK, this song has a bit of everything and it is harder than it looks/sounds.
Cool job bro, great vibe!

Cool job on that rhythmic part starting at 00:23 btw, it can be disorienting.

The vocal is mayb just a tad too low and you might want to put a capo on 2 for a sweeter ranger? Just thinking out loud.

One fine looking guitar as well, YUM!

:smiley:

1 Like

I thought your vocal was great on that one JK. The low tone gave your voice a Lou Reed growl. Super rhythm on the guitar, great tone, nice lead lines too. A good all round package, well done.
I enjoyed your OM version last weekend too. The song suits you.

1 Like