Black Magic Women - Santana

I’ve been working on Black Magic Woman, Santana’s version from Abraxas. This is an average recording. I figured I’ll find something wrong with everyone so should just go ahead and post despite hearing my mistakes already.

Comments welcome. I can tell one of my issues is timing! So pointers on that are very welcome. Using a metronome lots but beyond that??? Years of trying to play along by ear or with tab was not great for timing - I think it put me slightly behind.

Getting the volume/tone shift between rhythm sections and solos is also tricky. Any advice?

Feedback on everything else also welcome. How’s the tone? PRS Custom 24 with a Mesa Boogie MkV-35 on the IIC+ channel. A tiny bit of delay. How is the balance for bass, mid, treble, presence. I’m new to really fiddling with amps so guidance welcome. Santana seems to dance on the edge with feedback.

https://soundcloud.com/owen-okie/black-magic-women-feb-2022?si=9eaed95307fd49bfaf41a9598d613cde&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing

6 Likes

It is absolutely over the standard I could comment on the guitar playing. I notice you record your guitar over the original song, which makes a bit difficult to tell apart yours and ordinal, in fact, at the beginning I thought it was the delay effect. If you can find a clean backing tracks without guitar, it would sound better I believe.

I’m a beginner so can’t comment on technicality, but I thought it was pretty legit. My question is, did you have fun playing it? I do believe the answer is yes.

It was an enjoyable listen :slight_smile:

My 2 cents:

• Probably you should focus on the solo parts at first to get them right