Californication Cover - 1 year progress video

In just over a week I’m closing in on 1 year of playing guitar and I’ve had the intention for a while to do a video to recognise that.

It had to be Californication. It was a “dreamer” song of mine, by the Justin classification. I started playing it when introduced to the riff in grade 2, then played along with the chords in the JG app. I struggled with the verse transition riff for ages, unable to get my fingers in the right spot or hit the right strings. But like a mule I kept at it. It was the first solo I learnt. I play the bass fills when playing without a backing track, but I’ve let Flea do them in the video :wink:. From a dreamer song to being able to play it end to end, I’ve learnt a lot with Californication.

I’ve recorded over a backing track (from the album) that had the guitar stripped from it. It took a few takes to get it right, mostly because of struggling with the dive that putting a GoPro on the headstock caused! And red light fever too. However I wanted to use just one take like a “live” playthrough, so this was the final attempt.

A few mistakes here and there but I’m pretty happy with it.

I tried something new with the video as well, with the GoPro - let me know if you like it. I’m a newbie to video editing.

So here’s the video: Californication Guitar Cover - 1 year guitar progress - YouTube

For the gear curious, the Telecaster is in coil split (single coil) mode on the bridge pickup, and I’m using a Fender GTX50 amp with a simulated Fender Twin Reverb. With a bit of ambient reverb added. In the mix I’ve tried to keep the guitar easily audible.

As usual, feedback, critique, tips, all welcome.

33 Likes

That was outstanding JK! You have mastered and picked up some serious skills in just 1 year. I was nowhere near your level at 1 year! Thoroughly enjoyed your performance and the production! Take a serious bow :bowing_woman:!

1 Like