Capo - recommendations please

Who would like to help me spend money on GAS in the form of a quality capo?

My first capo needs to be retired as the rubber is perishing and cut up. I thought it was my rubbish playing till I looked at it.

:bat:

1 Like

Hi Maggie!

I really really like this Dā€™Addario capo I have. Itā€™s light and small so it doesnā€™t get in the way, has adjustable tension, and real easy to put on with one hand:

Dā€™Addario Pro Capo, Adjustable Tension, Black Amazon.com

Iā€™ve read great things about Thalia capos as well if you want to get real fancy but I have no first hand experience with those:

2 Likes

@SS7 thankyou Ivan, I like the look of the Aā€™Addario very much, for the reasons you give. I watched a video and learned that thereā€™s no need to retune when the capo gets moved or removed. Re-tuning is a pain, especially doing an OM.

The Thalia capos look clunky. I like the streamlined design of the Dā€™Addario.

Thankyou very much. Now to source one here in Aus!

2 Likes

I use a G7th because itā€™s so easy to use and very consistent and durable. Well worth what it costs!
https://www.g7th.com/
I use the Performance 3

4 Likes

For ages and ages I just used one of the really really cheap (sub Ā£4) capoā€™s off ebay or amazon and in all honesty they worked absolutely fine and generally no problems with them. I did get a new Donner one for Christmas, another budget one but a few pounds more and it is much better finished and a better spring overall - again it works.

The nicest ones Iā€™ve actually used are the G7th Capoā€™s but they are Ā£30 and upwards. I guess you do use them for a long time so itā€™s probably not a bad investment but Iā€™m happy with what Iā€™ve got for now and they all do the same job IMHO.

1 Like

I use the Shubb C1N. Itā€™s easy to use, has adjustable tension and doesnā€™t get in the way.

Iā€™ve read good reviews on the G7th too buts itā€™s a bit more expensive.

2 Likes