Celebrating my 2nd Guitarversary with a new recording😃

I can hardly believe it, but this week was my 2nd Guitarversary :star_struck:.
To celebrate it with you, I did my best on getting a song ready, I’ve been working on for several months now.
In the beginning, I started with a very simplified version (only one and the same strumming pattern the whole song through), but this didn’t feel satisfying. So, I started to change the pattern by playing the root note at the beginning of each bar. Then I realized, that in the original version, it’s played with alternating root notes.
OMG, that was soooo difficult to get it right (especially at a higher tempo :see_no_evil:).
But still, I was not satisfied with my version, so I tried to figure out the different strumming patterns of the original and practiced them. Finally, I ‘pimped it up’ with some hammer ons (at least I tried, as I haven’t learnt this technique yet :sweat_smile:). This was the point, when I said: Stop. I have to record it now, or I will never do it.

The singing part was a challenge of its own, as it forced me to strech my voice range significantly.
But here it is. And it is what it is - a never ending work in progress with several mistakes. But despite its imperfectness, I’m proud of it :innocent:.

By the way, I still love this song :grin:.
It’s by one of my favourite singer-songwriters, Frank Turner. The story he describes in this song, really happened to him. And he’s not proud of it. Nevertheless, it’s a fun song, and some day, I will be able to play it without concentrating that much :sweat_smile:.

Any comments, feedback and tips are highly welcome :smiley:.

46 Likes

Nicole

Well played! Really dynamic picking and strumming made an excellent accomoaniment to your very good singing.

Happy 2nd guitarversary!

Brian

1 Like