Cliff and the Shadows update

Just watching the final reunion concert of cliff and the shadows 2009 I know people bang on about Richie Samboura, slash, Jimi Hendrix Keef Richards but you cant beat Hank Marvin playing FBI, Atlantis,wonderful land,Foot tapper Apache Cavatina and many others thats the reason I started playing guitar & when about 13/14 I could play most of them on my 3/4 size acoustic but now long forgotten my aim this year is to re learn as many as I can as well as continuing the JG courses.the first song I learnt was Dance on age 10/11 how can you not like the shadows even cliff had some good hits back in the day. On one number hank was playing a burns double 6 electric guitar never seen one of them before. *** just bought the guitar legends Shadows TAB & music book no excuse now ***

2 Likes

Sounds cool! I love the Shadows… can you post a link to the concert video? It would be appreciated!

Tod

well i watched it on freeview but if you just search on it its on the web somewhere posting links is a bit beyond me

Link to Cliff and Shadows final concert.

1 Like

I was a teenager in the 60s, but never heard of them. Must have been a British thing.

You never heard this song in the 60s? I thought no-one could have escaped it.

Cliff Richard was the biggest rock and roll star in the UK pre-Beatles, but he was virtually unknown in the U.S.

2 Likes

Nope. First time I ever heard it.

Maybe this one, which was in the top 10 singles in the US in '79?
Or perhaps Devil Woman, covered by our very own crocodile the other week?

1 Like

Never watched The Young Ones either I guess? :grinning:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gGOU0o9K89g

1 Like

Ha! I do know both of those. I never realized that was the Cliff Richard :smiley:

Interesting that he had those late-'70s hits, nearly 20 years after his rock ‘n’ roll heyday. That’s some staying power.