Coated or Plain Acoustic Strings? D'Addario XT, XS and Phosphor Bronze!

Which acoustic guitar strings are better for you? Here is my test and review of the D’Addario XT, XS, and Phosphor Bronze strings!

3 Likes

Wow, thanks for this! I’m a beginner who has been on this journey for about a year…my husband has always changed my strings but I’ve promised myself I’d learn on the next change. Which is due now :smile:. I’d been agonizing over what strings to use, and this really helped. I listened to the tests and took notes. I was pleasantly surprised that my unsophisticated ear was able to hear the differences, and that I had preferences! I was relieved to learn that my least favorite were the old strings. :rofl: As it happened, I preferred the sound of the plain strings, and the XTs were my second choice - it’ll be fun to experiment for myself. I’ll spend some time watching the rest of the recording. Thank you again, Justin, this must have been quite a project for you.

1 Like

Yes but to enter the competition for free strings you have to input your email address, postal address etc. Then sit back and wait for the spam! :worried:

2 Likes

I have a Taylor GS MIni I have been taking lessons with, in addition to JG resources, and decided to take the plunge and try some new strings. I really wanted lighter strings and ended up working through 4 gauges of strings until I settled on the D’Addario XS Coated Phosphor Bronze Medium (.013-.056), which are recommended by Taylor. They’re not lightest but sound best to my ear on the Mini. It was a costly experiment but I’m satisfied I have it sorted and am now a wiz at string changing!
D’Addario has a reward system and the strings I mentioned were free because of the previous purchases.

1 Like

So far I’ve only had coated strings on my acoustic. I’ve been using Elixir 12s, and a few weeks ago took off a 3 month old set of those and put on D’Addario XS 12s. The Elixirs were starting to peel in spots.