Daphne's Learning Log

I have been playing guitar for a little over 3/12 years. I grew up in a musical family and played trumpet for several years. I stopped playing trumpet several years ago. I wanted to learn to play guitar since I was 15. I have tried to learn guitar several times in the past several years and had several false starts. It finally clicked a in the spring and summer of 2018. I consider myself to be an advanced beginner. I am not sure if I am an intermediate player yet. I know my open chords, strumming, power chords, palm muting, picking, alternate picking and riffing over a pentatonic scale. I am currently working on learning bar chords and more beginning lead guitar.

6 Likes

All sounds grand, Daphne. I suggest a good way to get a sense of where you are would be to post some recordings in #record-yourself-progress-performance:audio-video-of-you-playing. That will get you feedback, encouragement, and perhaps some suggestions.

1 Like

Thanks, I may do that. There are a couple of things I want to get feedback on.

2 Likes

Great stuff Daphne, nice to meet you,

1 Like

Nice to meet you too.

1 Like

Right now, I am working on Bar chords and couple of songs. I want to learn the E, E minor, A and A minor shapes. I am almost done with the E shape. I feel like it is taking a long time to learn bar chords and I am a little frustrated. For a while, I was learning bar chords, picking patterns and some beginning lead. I had fun learning picking patterns and lead techniques but I feel like it was taking too long to learn bar chords. I decided to focus on bar chords. I am also working on the songs, Zombie by the Cranberries and Hurt by Johnny Cash. I am almost done with Zombie. I want to finish and and record myself playing the song soon.

I look forward to hearing it Daphne! Definitely a good call to be focussing on the barre’s, I’m only really stepping into that world but appreciating the flexibility that they offer.

1 Like