Does anyone have experience with online guitar lessons?

I’m an intermediate player and self-taught (if using Justin Guitar counts as self-taught). I’m thinking of taking lessons partly to learn some specific skills that I’m interested in and partly to identify and remedy some of the bad habits I’ve picked up during the learning process.

Most of the approved teachers are on-line only and my question is this: does anyone have experience of on-line teaching and how beneficial it is? I’m sure they are all great teachers per se or they would not be recommended on JG but I suspect some of my issues I have are in the detail of how I navigate the fretboard and I don’t know how easy it is to pick up on them via video.

Grateful for and thoughts and observations.

4 Likes

Edit: I wrote this without knowing much about the individual teachers recommended on the site and in retrospect, I embarrassed myself a bit. You can skip past and read comments from the actual instructors down below and get much more accurate insights.

Thoughts:

• Anyone listed on Justin’s website would probably be very high profile and could be very expensive (I do not actually know this) or have a very long queue.
  • They are likely to be far better than any other teacher one can find in real life. This might be a good or a bad thing. They may be very useful to a professional player but may not be able to relate to a beginner/intermediate player. Personally, I think me taking lessons from Mike Dawes would be absurd but Justin could probably keep up :slight_smile:
  • A real-life teacher is invaluable in the sense that they can spot your mistakes in milli-seconds, they can show you techniques without audio/video delay, and they can jam with you. These are important when learning something that needs a lot of motor skills.