Electric guitar strings question

I have Ernie Ball Super Slinky RPS Nickel Wound Electric Guitar Strings - 9-42 Gauge (Amazon description!) on my electric guitar, but the luthier that I am taking it to is suggesting D’addarios strings, which I’ve not used before.

Has anyone used both? How do they compare? Comments welcome.

1 Like

My 2 cents - Ernie Ball have a very good reputation and are cheaper online, D’addario and Elixers are most popular with the guitar shops in Perth Western Australia, not better not worse in electric guitars. Most seem to use 9-42 for strats and 10-46 for les Paul/ES 355 style guitars which gives the same feel due to different neck lengths

I’ve used EBs, D’Adarrio, and Rotosound amongst others.

Personally, I prefer EBs and Rotosound to D’Adarrio with a slight preference to EBs, but I think a lot is personal preference.

The following might be worth a read:

Cheers,

Keith

1 Like

I agree with Keith that it is personal preference.
When I started playing, I bought several sizes, brands, and options. I listened to comparisons online where the experiment was done well (some people used different guitars, so you cannot compare). I keep notes on each string change, what I like and don’t, longevity, etc. I made some recordings of fresh and old strings.
I still have some to try, but have decided that I need more skill to do a good job of that and they still sit in my toolbox.
Today, I clearly prefer the EB Cobalts. I like the timbre of them, and they last a good deal longer than the regular nickel strings before they sound dead or look dirty. My fingers don’t smell like nickel after playing them.
I tried a flat-wound string, and it didn’t stay on more than 24 hours - it was really not to my liking. Don’t be bashful about just admitting you didn’t like a set and changed them early.