First post - hello from Nick in Northern England

Hi All

I’ve been a member for a little while but not posted yet. What a great site this is and a great community!

Background on me is music is just a hobby but a passionate one. I’ve always struggled though with tendinitis and wrist problems. I started playing guitar at 18 (Oasis, Stone Roses - that era) but after a year or two developed issues in my hands/wrists that eventually stopped me playing. Completely self taught I expect I played with far too much tension.

A few years later I started to learn to play piano. Had some lessons. Got reasonably good and even took a few exams (played mainly classical) got up to about ABRSM grade 7 standard before suffering more tendinitis type issues in elbows and problems in my wrists. Our youngest was then also born and out of frustration with pain and also lack of time to practice I gave that up too.

One thing I did learn through learning piano though was patience. In the earlier days learning any new piece on piano took an age. Learning hands separately, then putting hands together, then trying to shape and articulate both hands etc. meant that you had to be patient. That got easier over time of course but it instilled discipline. Doing the exams, and polishing pieces for them did too.