First recording attempt - RHCP Californication

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at recording myself while playing. I know that the video framing is pretty bad and also that I should’ve dusted my guitar, but I got excited to post here so I kinda didn’t care much about that part. Something to improve for sure.

I was taught classical guitar back in school, but I haven’t played much since. I started Justin’s courses about a year ago.
I am progressing quite fast I think, currently I’m around the end of Grade 3, so I thought that it would be good to challenge myself to learn and record 10 songs more or less properly - this is the first stage of this challenge, but I think I will re-do this one after more practice for sure (or getting a better video angle with a tripod perhaps).

For the recording, I just used the USB out of my Katana 50, and a free trial version of Studio One from Presonus. The backing track itself is from Youtube.

Any feedback is appreciated.

Edit: seems like I don’t know how to embed YouTube videos here, if you can help me out on that as well I would appreciate it :smiley:

25 Likes

He I was just typing how to for your video ,aha I see David :grin:

Hi András,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses: and that is some very nice first video :scream: :sunglasses: :clap: :partying_face:
You learned that quickly and I look forward to the rest of your progress and your input into this community :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

2 Likes

Welcome to the Community, András.

Nothing really I can say about your playing, good rhythm, clean, looked relaxed., both rhythm and solo.

One of our regulars is really into RHCP and might dig deeper, pick up on details … @adi_mrok, you are around Adrian to give this a listen.

I sorted out the embedding for you. All you need to do is copy and paste the uRL from YouTube on its own line in the post and it embeds automatically. You can edit your post and have a look if that doesn’t make sense.