First recordings Upload

Currently living in Thames Valley, west of London in England, I picked up a my first acoustic guitar in Spring 2020; looking for an interest during the newly imposed C-19 Lockdown. I pulled down a 40yr classical nylon string that came from somewhere in the family and first job was to re-string it, courtesy of Amazon and YT. After a month of trying to play it, a friend’s observation over Zoom one day was it was basically kindling. I already had the “bug” and looked around and took a punt on a “ex demo” Faith Earth . Sorting out the wheat from the chaff on Youtube and finding a few gems, like Justin Guitar, I’m pretty much self-taught.
You’ll note I said “first acoustic guitar”; and a I now own a preloved 12-fret Taylor 415 CE, and an Auden Dreadnought.
I joined The Community last month have been requested to upload a few recordings. I’m not a fan per se, but here are three that I made during 2022. (Warning - they are not up to tempo - as yet, I am not very DAW literate either)
I will be “3 guitar years old” in May and having been in the audience last week for OM XIV, I reckon it’s time to try my hand to perform “live to strangers”; although I have had a go among a few friends.
Anyhoo, I can drone on like the best of them, 'nuff said:
Billy in The Lowground - Trad
Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotton
Siciliano - Carulli Edited Title - same content

15 Likes

The Bach piece is nicely played. Freight Train nice and clear and good to hear some pickin

But that’s one to challenge Nitsuj as this is played upside down left handed on a right handed strung guitar.

You can’t beat the old blues masters

4 Likes

Peter’s right you can’t beat the old Blues and EC is great to follow and emulate. Three nice recordings CJ. Your 3 years has been well spent ! :sunglasses:

1 Like

Very nice :+1:

1 Like

Nicely played on all 3. Very pleasing to the ears! :sunglasses:

1 Like

Very good job :exclamation:

1 Like