First video posted, Come as you are

Hi all.
Having introduced myself recently I thought I would post my first video of myself playing.

I have been playing for just over 2 years and started learning the main riff to this song as part of Justin’s beginner course, grade 1, module 5 and I have been working on the song on and off pretty much ever since until, just yesterday, I managed to play it all of the way through for the first time, although I had to edit the solo into the video as I couldn’t change from chorus effect to gain while playing.
I seem to be having a bit of an issue with fret buzz, probably due to my sloppy fretting, and the bends during the solo are a little under pitch, but excusable I guess seeing as I have only just started learning the art of string bending. Other than the issues mentioned I am pretty pleased with this. https://youtu.be/lTtL9lU4Kl0

15 Likes

Sounds like progress is being made :+1: just keep on rocking.

Just work on your technique as part of your practice routine, the 1 minute chord changes are very helpful even if a bit boring. Strumming chords one string at a time will let you know which strings are buzzing.

Sounding good though, keep it up!

1 Like

Cool performance, I enjoyed it a lot so thank you for posting it!

I have noticed you only do downpicking on the riff and the solo. Is this intentional and you prefer doing it over alternate picking to add more punch to the riff and solo? There’s no right or wrong way but keep in mind that playing faster/busier songs, your right hand might get tired doing exclusively downpicking (unless you have a wrist of steel like James Hetfield from Metallica who downpicks everything).

3 Likes

Thanks for your feedback @glpguitar