Goals for 2024 (guitar plus life in general)

A bit of fun ahead of the new year but maybe something to check back in on 12 months from now…

Do you have a guitar playing related goal for 2024? Feel free to add other aims for the year too, but maybe it’s a specific you want to learn, or perhaps it’s to do your first open mic event or something. I’ll set the ball rolling…

Guitar related - I’m still a beginner so I’d I like to be able to confidently sing AND play one song by the end of the year. Yes, I can play some simple songs but I definitely can’t hold rhythm and sing right now. I’m going to aim for Bad Moon Rising by CCR. A bonus goal would to be able to play it for friends (other than a brief video I posted here I’ve never played in front of anyone).

Non-guitar related - Away from guitar I also do yoga and have do for around 5 years. There’s a pose called half moon pose (it involves standing on one leg, with the other out straight, one arm up high and facing to the side), it’s my current nemesis, so it’s about time I cracked that!

Looking forward to see what anyone has in mind

8 Likes

And for what it’s worth, before anyone says it, I don’t do new year’s resolutions either but I think there’s a difference between setting yourself a definite achievable goal and a typical resolution which usually involves going to the gym or giving up chocolate and will be broken by January 5th!

1 Like

It’s great to hear specific goals like yours. It makes them much easier to achieve as compared to “I want to learn to play guitar”

1 Like

That sounds like an achievable goal. I made a similar decision a couple years back, and it has worked out well. My guitar playing and singing have become a mutually reinforcing positive feedback loop that makes both improve faster.

Coincidentally, that was the first song I successfully sang over. It’s fast, though, at 180 bpm. Don’t be afraid to slow it waaaay down at first.