Greetings from Donna in Virginia 🇺🇸

Hi, I’m Donna [she/her], and I live in Southeast Virginia, USA. I’ve been learning with Justin for a little over 2 years now, and it has come to my attention that I’ve never properly introduced myself. I’m another late life learner, as I am now past the 55 year mark in age. My parents got me a cheap guitar when I was really young, but I got frustrated because I couldn’t make any good sounds and I never had a teacher. There was no one to tell me that A] I needed to tune the guitar, and B] I could get new strings if I didn’t like the awful ones that came with it.

My oldest son plays guitar. He gave up on teaching me, but he did loan me my first “real” guitar so I could follow Justin’s course. I learned my first song “Every Rose Has Its Thorn,” on his electric guitar, and I really grew to love that Warlock. So I bought it from him. I have been learning songs across several genres so I can develop a variety of skills. I’ve also been dipping my toes into songwriting. I’m sure I’ll eventually settle into something, but for now, I’m having fun with both the electric and acoustic guitars. The more I learn, the more I love this instrument!

I completed Justin’s beginner course, but he made some changes to the site which meant I missed a few things. Right now, I’m in the process of going through the course a second time while mixing in some Intermediate level lessons to keep things interesting. I’m also working up the courage to share my progress through videos here.

Other things about me: I’m an accomplished figure skater. I retired from medical school many years ago and never looked back. I have mostly worked from home since then. I do have some physical limitations, but my 2 Irish Wolfhounds are a fantastic remedy and comfort. Oh yes, and my favorite ice cream is mint chocolate chip.

Anyway, nice to meet y’all!

12 Likes

Welcome!

2 Likes