Guitar and Harmonica

Hi there! My name is Iuli and I am from Europe. This is the first time when I post a question here so I hope this is the right place :grin:. I have been playing guitar for 3 years and recently I have started to be curious about other instruments as well. The one that Iā€™m the most interested in is the harmonica. Iā€™m a complete beginner. What should be the steps of learning this instrument? I just want to play something that sounds good with a guitar background, but I donā€™t know where to start and I feel confused with all the YouTube videos.
I would be really happy if someone can give me some guiding steps in order to start learning the harmonica.
Thank you :grin:

3 Likes

Welcome to the community, Mluli. Iā€™m a beginning harmonica player, too. What I did to get started was order a Hohner Marine Band 1869 harmonica in the key of C. Such a harmonica will allow you to play straight harp in the key of C, or cross-harp in the key of G. For rock/blues/country styles youā€™ll mostly play cross-harp, so a key of C harmonica will work well with key of G songs on your guitar.

Note that if you get into harmonica, youā€™ll probably end up buying multiple harps in different keys so that you can match the right harp to the keys of the songs you want to play. But starting of with a key of C harmonica is a good place to begin. (I now have four harmonicas. You can hear me play one of them on this track. That was after a month or so of practice with the harmonica.)

For lesson videos, I recommend Adam Gussowā€™s youtube site.
https://www.youtube.com/c/Gussowsclassicbluesharmonicavideos

He also has a website and offers a beginnersā€™ course for purchase:
https://www.modernbluesharmonica.com/beginning_harmonica.html