Guitar withdrawal symptoms

Is there any medication for this?

I’m on holiday, and it’s a pretty good holiday, but as of today it’s been 7 days since I touched a guitar. It’s the longest time since I started playing in late 2021 - the previous longest was about two days.

There aren’t even any guitar shops where I am.

I’ve seen a couple of buskers around and wanted to rip the guitar away from them and play. I’m day dreaming about fingerpicking… it’s so hard not playing. Usually I take my cheapo Yamaha away with me on road trips but this vacation is overseas. I keep thinking about playing, but I can’t.

5 days to go until I get back to my guitars. Send help!

6 Likes

Yep, 1 and only solution is…

Travel guitar.
:smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

R.

3 Likes

Dude who booked this time of torture??

2 Likes

I have one but it was too big to bring… and baggage handlers would have destroyed it in checked luggage :astonished:

1 Like

The Mrs of course. We’re in your country, kiwiland, staying near some family.

It IS a good holiday…. But guitar!

1 Like

ooh not close by? :smiley:

1 Like

I remember feeling the same on my last holiday! But that feeling when the guitar’s back in your hands is terrific. In many ways the break can do you some good, all that learning you’ve done (especially you JK!!) is settling in to you unimpeded by new stuff.
But yes it is a form of torture. Have a lovely rest of your holiday though!

Alcohol!! And lot’s of it, if possible. That or whatever floats your boat.
It has helped me through some rough patches during holidays.
And hey, it’s a holiday, right? :laughing:

1 Like

Have you tried alcohol (other drugs are available :roll_eyes:)

No, but seriously, even if you can’t play, you can still work on learning music.

Work through some theory you’ve been putting on the long finger.
Ear training. learn the fretboard, the circle of fifths. There are apps for everything :wink:
Try writing a song!