Hallelujah (fingerstyle) - Verse and chorus - beginner grade 1

Hi everyone -

This isn’t the entire song, and it certainly isn’t perfect by any account, but I wanted to record it and share. I started playing 6 weeks ago and I am currently on Beginner Grade 1, Module 4 of the course. 10 days ago I enrolled in a local music school too, and my live teacher asked about my likes and goals. Fingerstyle was on my list. So he asked if I could play a few chords (which I was able to do), and he gave this to me and off I went.

I can honestly say, it has been a little frustrating over the past week or so, because it “feels” like it should be coming more easily, but it is taking some practice time.

Anyway, here is a 1 min+ snippet of me, very early in my journey. Most of the videos I am watching from here are very good, but I wanted to share this WIP so we can all see how people progress. Hopefully, I will post another one in another couple of weeks and we can see how things are moving.

Any constructive feedback would also be very welcome! TIA.

3 Likes

Very nice! Nothing to be frustrated about. It just really takes time to program the brain and fingers to do what you want.

Make sure to practice fingerstyle with the fingers covering their proper strings. Your teacher will sort out all the technical stuff.

Thanks for posting. It sounds excellent.

Only a few weeks in and already tackling fingerstyle! Well done.

Certainly had the essence of the song there.

I’d encourage you to try to get almost every note ringing out well at this stage - a challenge and will slow you down but will pay dividends.

Looking forward to seeing your progress!

You are doing well, making good progress, and the song was unmistakable.