Hello - David here. It’s all a mystery to me - but I'm here

Yes, it’s a mystery how I got here or even where I am. I don’t do social media so I don’t know how these things work. Buttons everywhere! I came to say hello, am I in the right place? I’ll say it anyway.

Hello I’m David from Lancashire. I started playing guitar in my 30’s but gave up because I wasn’t getting anywhere. I’m 62 now and picked the guitar up again last summer. Just messed around with it for awhile then I found justinguitar.

I rushed through Grade 1 only to find I still couldn’t play anything. Gave up again!

A month later I kicked myself and went back to the beginning. I want to do it right this time. Proper practice, learn songs and take my time.

I’ve got the changes on A D E up to 60 good changes a minute. So now my priority is to learn songs with them. I’ve made a list of songs to learn before I move on.

I’m learning my first song. Not bad with the recording but not good campfire style. Never could sing! I don’t stop to change chords, I stop to change my voice!

I want to make my guitar sing!

I hadn’t seen my guitar for over 20 years but I’m starting to like it again now. It’s a Burns. White body, dark red mottled pick guards, maple neck, floating bridge and tremolo, 5 way pick-up switch and one of the tone controls is push pull. It’s nice!

I took a photo of it to put on my profile but it wouldn’t accept it. “file to large” I have no idea how to make it smaller or how small.

I’ve always dreamt of being a lead guitarist. They can make it sing can’t they! But when I registered on justinguitar last week I put “Rhythm” in my username to remind me to learn chords and rhythm.

At 62 should I be realistic and tell myself it’s not ever going to happen. Or should I keep going, keep learning, keep dreaming?

Oh well, I’d best go. I’ll press a button and see what happens next. If I don’t make it back, I’m lost! It’s a mystery. Technology doesn’t know how I work!y

Bye for now.

David

7 Likes