Hello Everyone, Silvia from Italy :)

Hello everyone, I apologize I haven’t introduced myself yet, I needed some time to figure out what to write and I’ve now made up my mind: I’m not going to waste too much time telling you about that instructor that didn’t care a bit in my teens or how painful it was to give up…ok, enough! I’m gonna tell you how happy a guitar learner I am today. I restarted learning during the first lockdown in 2020 with much self doubt and probably more self indulgence. I love both strumming and fingerstyle but I practice a lot more fingerstyle than strumming and recently I started working on classical guitar and I’m loving it so much! What else to say? I’m a kindergarten teacher and if I started learning how to strum again it’s all thanks to my job and my pupils, and to Justin’s lessons of course. I think that comparing myself to others can be constructive in a certain way, it allows for self acceptance and the more I see my progress is very slow the more I can take the time to breath through it and emotionally enjoy it, I need this. Also learning to play the guitar and be able to make some music is a wonderful opportunity for personal growth and enjoying the process is to me the main thing. I’m very grateful for this wonderful Community and for Justin’s Lessons…thank you :blush::blush::blush:

4 Likes

Welcome Silvia!
Glad to see another acoustic guitar enthusiast. Any particular classical pieces that you like/learn?
Hope you will enjoy this community.

1 Like

Thank you for your reply. I learnt the main theme of Fur Elise and Brahms Lullaby (beginner arrangements) and I finally decided to seriously start working on classical guitar tecnique.

Great mindset Silvia! Like with all things, it’s all about the process and the present. If you can take enjoyment from those, then you will never need to drum up motivation and you will enjoy all the struggles and break throughs along the way. Welcome to the community!

2 Likes