Hello! Fred Garvin from the old forum

Hi…first time posting in the new community. Already have an account with my Dashboard and Practice Assistant setup, so it’s just another menu selection available and nice to have everything integrated. I can see alot of value developing over time with more possibilities than with the old, separate forum.

I’m just beginning my guitar journey, both acoustic and electric. I’m following the JG Beginner Course, (I bought the physical book and both songbooks) ands also working through the old Gibson Learn & Master Course, with Tuesday nights Live Lessons with Steve Krenz.

Back in the 90’s I played bass for a blues/rock trio. We did pretty much everything SRV/Double Trouble plus alot of Hendrix. I latched on to Tommy Shannon and studied everything he did, learning to play bass. We did the bar gig scene for many years until it just burned me out. That was 20 years ago.

4 Likes

Good to meet you here, Scott.

I agree, the integration of the website with the Forum is probably the biggest benefit of this new Community platform. The old Forum was as big a part of my own learning as Justin’s lessons, and hopefully the integration will lead to an even more vibrant Community.

Sounds like you have some serious bass chops from days of yore, which I’m sure must help with learning the guitar. Look forward to you sharing your progress over on AVOYP when you are ready.

1 Like

Thanks! I also benefit from 4 years playing saxophone in band, back in jr high and part of high school, so I can sight read treble clef and have an understanding of basic music theory. It’s been a while though, but after a quick review using Alfred’s and the Gibson L&M lessons, it all came back.

1 Like

Welcome to the New Community Scott

1 Like

Thanks! I’m enjoying it so far…