Hello from Brian - A newbie frustrated by plateau(s)

So, I’m turning 80 in a few months and decided a couple years ago that learning to play a guitar would be a great covid project.

I have no musical background at all.

I followed the original program religiously and seemed to be gaining a bit of skill. My wife though could not really recognize a song and preferred that I keep the door closed even after the first year! I still love her even though her support is limited to encouraging me to keep at it because I enjoy the journey so much.

But, i seem to have reached a plateau perhaps because I started to learn to read music, looked at other learning platforms, and jumped around in the course. I am finally starting over at the beginning.

Has anyone else had this sort of problem? I guess I’m frustrated because I just can’t seem to find any sense of rhythm.

As an example of my abilities I was actually looking to say hello in the Old Timers Community and I wound up here. While I do not expect a biblical transformation perhaps others will have worked through this or at least might take comfort in knowing they are not alone.

My sense is that I should not have tried to do too many things at once and just followed the program.

Anyway my very best wishes to everyone.

Brian

3 Likes

That’s more than the support I get for practicing so you’re being spoiled :wink:

But plateau’s are a thing and they often on the same spots.

• when learning barre chords
  • learning songs and not being able to actually play a complete song
  • wanting to get into improvising
  • wanting to develop lead skills and speed
  • when trying to understand music in order to make music

If you recognize one or more of these, that’s not so strange
You might have other things holding you back.

Sticking to one plan will help but it’s not illegal to explore.
You’ll need to set good, measureable and realistc goals (s.m.a.r.t. goals)