Hello from County Durham, UK

Hi everyone, I’m Michael from County Durham, UK. I’ve made numerous attempts to learn guitar since my late teens - I’m now 48. I learned a few chords in the mid 90s then switched to bass. I played bass for a few years then gave it up until approx 2018 when I started playing again with some friends from work. We formed a band and played a few gigs but everything came to a halt in 2020 and my bass began gathering dust, hanging on the wall.

Fast forward to August 2023 - I went to a folk festival in Wales with my family and saw some amazing bands and solo artists, most of whom I’d never heard of before, and upon returning home I felt inspired to dust off my old acoustic guitar which had also been gathering dust for a number of years. I’ve recently replaced it with a newer model as there was an issue with the neck which I was told couldn’t be repaired. I now have an Alvarez AF60 which I really enjoy playing.

I’ve stared right from the beginning with Justin’s beginner’s lessons - I’m about to start module 7 of grade 1. I’ve also been attending a local guitar club where we play through some rock classics. I’ve even done a couple of solo songs - something I thought I’d never be able to do.

I thought it was about time i introduced myself and joined the JG Community!

Happy Strumming!

Michael

13 Likes

Welcome Michael. Plenty of starting again people here, hope you stick with it this time.

1 Like

Thank you! It’s going well so far. I think the main difference this time round is that I’m actually making an effort to learn songs and not just strum random chords. It’s so much more fun and productive that way. I’m discovering loads of new music too which is great. Looking forward to getting involved in the JG Community and connecting with other players near and far

1 Like

Hi Michael,
Welcome here and I wish you a lot of fun :sunglasses:
Greetings,Rogier

1 Like

Thanks Roger :guitar:

Welcome aboard, Michael! :smiley: