Hello from Jak. Finally Introducing Myself! :)

Hey everyone! I hope I’m doing this right. I actually was a part of another online guitar school for almost 3 years, but I left because I felt I got out of that site what I could. So I ended up finding THIS site by accident! I researched “Why am I getting so much thumb muscle pain when I play?” And lo and behold, one of the forum topics on this site popped up and not only answered my question, the solution really helped!
I couldn’t believe I had accidentally stumbled on the legendary Justin Guitar site that so many people had talked about. I thought it costed money, so at those moments I couldn’t sign up. several months ago I realized, I COULD and it was FREE! Well, 90% of it is :slight_smile:

My name is Jak, and I’m the cofounder of a heavy metal band. I’ve been playing guitar for over 20 years but I really struggled with improving. The other online school helped a lot, and my private lessons really set me off. But when I came here, I started at the absolute beginning. I was able to apply beginner course training and practice ideas to my more advanced stuff and progressed like never before.

The biggest testament I can say, is when I was able to learn the intricate acoustic section of Symphony X’s “The Odyssey” in 5-10 hours. I was blown away. I thought I’d never be able to do that. Because of this site and the app, I have almost 15 songs under my belt that I’m getting ready to do a local gig with my singer for the first time ever!

This site is truly a blessing. I can’t wait to learn more about everyone here and become more a part of the community :slight_smile: When I have time, I’m going to upload my video take on that section because I was just so proud. Cheers!

17 Likes

Hi Jak and welcome, newb myself here just starting to (re)learn to play after a very long break.

Gives me some stoke that a relatively experienced player like yourself getting better and growing with justins lessons!