Hello, from Joe, I'm British, living In Barcelona, Spain

HI,
I’m Joe, a Brit living In Barcelona, Spain. My daughter is dabbling in learning to play the guitar, so I decided to join her. I learned about Justin Guitar through Youtube after searching for middle-aged guitar students’ successes (mid-life crisis anyone?), and having seen examples of success, along with some of Justin’s videos, I decided to part with some cash and take up a new activity much to my wife’s mirth… I’ll show her! Hopefully, having a month’s holiday will allow me to establish some basic fundamentals and routines.

15 Likes

Hey Joe, welcome to the forum. Nice to meet you.

I started playing at the age of 53, it wasn’t mid-life crisis, it was something I’d long dreamed of doing and I saw a friend progress relatively quickly after they started learning that motivated me to try. I’m now 65 and am thrilled that I stuck with it.

Suggestions.

1 - Songs. Get to where you can play a complete song all the way through. Choose one with simple and only a small number of chords. For me, that was the breakthrough that really motivated me to keep going.

2 - Daily practice. Just 10 minutes min. Make it part of your lifestyle, like having that first cup of tea in the morning.

3 - Justins beginners course has great stuff. For me the lesson that helped more than others was the one minute chord changes along with his fingering of the A chord. It gave me an anchor finger when changing from A to E to D, a common chord progression. Nowadays I play my A much differently (which isn’t a critic of his fingering, quite the opposite)

Have fun

3 Likes

Welcome aboard, Joe! :slight_smile:

Glad you found this community and start learning the guitar. Sounds great, you and your daughter will be on this journey together! :smiley: That’s amazing and I wish both of you loads of fun while learning and making some nice sounding noise together then. :slight_smile:

Cheers - Lisa

1 Like

Hola Joe and welcome on board.