Hello from Richard in the Wilds of Belgium

Hello,

I’ve been half-following this community for several months and have finally decided to hop off the fence. I’m an aging - well no, aged would be much more accurate, guitar player who has entertained himself off and on, mostly off, for the past thirty or forty years. I’ve got the usual aches and pains that come with being close to seventy and had to take a couple of years off from the guitar due to a problem with the thumb on my fretting hand.

To come back I’ve had to develop a new style of playing. That’s fine because I never had much style in the first place. I find the vibe on this site to be one of the best I’ve ever come across and hope to make some connections that, I would hope, could be mutually beneficial.

I’m a big Beatles fan and have a couple of adaptions for solo acoustic from their songs. I’m also a big fan of country blues running from the 20s up to the modern day as well as a bunch of rock, including The Clash, Neil Young, and a host of others.

I feel a little isolated out here in the wilds of Belgium (got caught this side of the channel when Brexit struck and decided to stay) and am always on the lookout for how to adapt tunes to unaccompanied guitar and vocal.

My first task is completeing this introduction. My second task will be to post something suitable as a further introduction.

First job done.

Cheers,
Richard

8 Likes

Welcome to the forum Richard

1 Like

Hello Richard, from Richard. :slight_smile: A very warm welcome to the community. If you’ve been lurking I’m sure you’ve taken a peek into the kennel housing all the old, growly and grizzled dogs. And AVOYP too which, it seems, you’re going to dip your toe into - I look forward to that. Arrangements of Beatles sounds fine by me.
Good to have you.
Cheers
Richard

Good to hear from you Richard, enjoy your time here and looking forward to your AVOYP soon👍

1 Like

Hello Richard,
Welcome and I wish you a lot of fun here :sunglasses: